.
News Alert
Top 20 High Schools In New Jersey; Cherry Hill…

Letter: Dems Did Well for West Deptford

The letter writer says Denice DiCarlo should be elected on Nov. 6.

To the Editor:

Like all New Jersey towns, West Deptford has been hard hit by the recession. Jobs have been lost, private development has been put on hold and Sunoco has shut down the local refinery.

On top of all this, the new Republican majority rammed through  settlements of the El Paso-Sunoco tax appeals, which added nearly $33 million in new debt.

Despite these setbacks, Standard and Poor’s recently gave West Deptford an A-/Stable debt rating, the same as last year, even after the township took on the $33 million to settle the refinery tax appeals. The reason for this good rating: West Deptford Energy power plant is now a reality, under construction, and will pay West Deptford $107 million in taxes over the next 20 years.

West Deptford and Gloucester County are better off than most of New Jersey and West Deptford still has the sixth-lowest tax rate in Gloucester County. The services provided by the township are second to none, and South Jersey Magazine has once again named West Deptford as a “Top Ten” community.

West Deptford is weathering the economic storm better than other towns because of the solid foundation built over the last 30 years by Democrat leadership.

Playing an old political game, the Republicans would like to take credit for everything good in West Deptford, despite being in control for only nine months.

West Deptford’s solid foundation and great reputation was not built in the last nine months under Republican control of our township.

Denice DiCarlo understands that it was notDiCarlo wants to build on our community’s solid foundation, not tear it down. Negative politics won’t make the future better for West Deptford families. Let’s focus on a positive future for West Deptford by electing Denice DiCarlo to Township Committee.

James M. Hink
West Deptford Township

Have something to say on a West Deptford issue? Email your letter to the editor to westdeptford@patch.com.

Occupant October 28, 2012 at 01:44 PM
I must say Mr. Hink that I actually agree with parts of your letter. But you have to realize that by mentioning "Denise DiCarlo" in your last paragraph, you just reduced the worth of your letter to mere political propaganda. Having said that, Of course the Republicans can't take credit for over 20+ years of Democratic achievement in our township. What the Republican administration is now dealing with and taking credit for is the downside of all of these achievements. Accruing enormous debt ($141 million) for such a small township, Political corruption running unchecked, Decades of litigation with no end in sight, Millions in unverifiable expenditures for Riverwinds construction, Poor accounting practices in township government. Oh! BTW, since you threw the political card first. VOTE JEFF HANSON NOV 6TH.
Walter Frockmorton October 28, 2012 at 02:45 PM
The $30 million in debt from the Sunoco settlement was encumbered quite some time ago. The D committee that occupied chairs failed to deal with it because they followed their party boss' instructions. Therefore, millions in legal fees were paid to a law firm that sent mega contributions to the D Political Action Committee. Look it up. My point: When you let one party rule, the people actually elected are not the ones making the decisions (kinda like the fox watching the henhouse). If there was an ounce of original thought on the previous committee, someone would have at least looked at the audit report and seen that there was a ledger missing. Minor details? I think not. No more one party rule (no matter who it is). I for one will be mixing it up in future elections. Checks and balances are needed in order to prevent this from happening again.
Holly Gardner October 28, 2012 at 03:36 PM
with the likes of angelini,shields,andrews,white,and the queen herself ( docimo ) dicarlo has great backing.their all crooks of corruption. people in this twon know exactly who they want Hansen. of course some of the districts could be floating out to sea by election day. the trailer park could be history with this magnitude of a storm. no matter rep or dem help your neighbors,they may need it.
Madeline Fucci October 28, 2012 at 05:22 PM
Jim: Thanks for the basic economics 101 lesson. You failed to point out that the new administration was up against a pending court date which was the reason immediate action was necessary. Remember, in May Denice and Donna were against the settlement and sent out a mass mailing to residents and attempted to hold a rally to torpedo the settlement but their efforts fell thru like a lead balloon. Consequently, they realized the residents were sick and tired of this protracted litigation which served to financially benefit the political powers and their operatives at the taxpayers expense. As a result they decided to make the vote a unanimous 5-0. As far as being the sixth lowest tax rate in Gloucester County,it's nothing to brag about. It's like saying your not the worst crack addict in the crack house. If you think West Deptford is weathering the storm because of it's solid foundation, you are living in an alternate universe. This house of cards is built on debt and on the back of the taxpayers. Denice DiCarlo has a lot to answer for--her lies about her professional credentials, her poor record on the committee, her irresponsible record on the school board that increased the budget by 2.5 million dollars in just 3 years and her devious attempt to indicate she received her degree from SUNY. Denice DiCarlo is wrong for West Deptford and is using every trick in the book to cover up the fraud and abuse which has infected this community. Jim must have benefitted from the abuse.
John October 28, 2012 at 06:15 PM
Madeline and especially Occupant pretty much have all the facts stated properly. It's pretty funny that a Democratic propaganda letter to support DiCarlo is even allowed like that on Patch ??? How is that even allowed ??? So much for being an unbiased news source. Vote for Hansen on November 6th, he's the best choice hands down and will be a voice and supporter for every WD taxpayer.
Lauren Burgoon October 28, 2012 at 06:24 PM
John, Following your logic, your comment wouldn't be allowed, as it supports a political candidate. Patch is a place for the community to get news, discuss and debate issues. That includes letters to editor, which plenty of residents have taken advantage of (http://westdeptford.patch.com/topics/Letter+to+the+Editor). They're clearly labeled as letters and opinions - not something written or endorsed by our staff.
Wayne Klotz October 28, 2012 at 06:49 PM
Oh people of little knowledge; are you and occupant on the right page? No you are not because if you were you would have listens to what the two republicans are doing to this great town! That's why I will support Denice DICARLO because of her knowledge of what is going on. And besides she was the only one who said we can get more from Sunoco! Did I hit a nerve?!!
Michael Turner October 28, 2012 at 06:49 PM
Great letter Jim. These guys tend to forget the $107 million PILOT that was the largest in south jersey history. This new administration has done nothing whatsoever to bring economic development or business to this town. The only peope that profit from them are there professionals who return the favor with political donations and pay-to-play schemes. Not to mention a new lawsuit brought against the township just about every other week. Illegal tax kickbacks, bribery, OPMA violations, sanctions against attorneys, is common place now with Sam and Ray. It is very important to have someone on the board keeping them in check so they dont totallyl destroy our town. Vote DiCarlo and keep some intelligence on the committee.
canodit October 28, 2012 at 07:29 PM
Facts are not what Madeline and Occupant have. Fantasies are all they can lay claim to. When the republicans took control at the beginning of this year, the debt was at less than 3.8% of WD's total ratable value. With 30+ million of new debt and the lowering of sunoco's ratable by over 50 million, it is now over 4%. Funny how WD truth got rid of their debt clock when their friends took over. The only thing that madeline said that was true is that there was a court date and that is the reason for the settlement. In Sam and Ray's world, the only reason for the settlement is them. The real reason the tax appeal was settled in 2012 is because of Judge Almeida's commitment to getting the case off his docket by year's end so he wouldn't have to delay it until he retires. Denice and Donna represent those of us who felt that this settlement had plenty of savings left in it, and they were proven correct in the end. The shameful thing is that there was no change from the first offer until the last month of negotiation when Denice got involved. OPMA has rules about forum attendees which limited the number of committee members allowed in negotiation meetings to two. Mayor Chintall was well aware of the fact that he would need a fourth vote and that it would have to come from a democrat, so why was he so unwilling to allow one of the democrats to be the second committee member with him at the early meetings? Given what Denice achieved later, it would have proven fruitful.
canodit October 28, 2012 at 07:56 PM
Why is it that Republicans have zero pride in their community? Sam refers to WDHS as 'heroin high' and now you are analogizing the entire township as a 'crack addict' and referring to our county as a 'crack house.' Just curious, how many crack houses run flu shot clinics for their elderly residents? Can you at least pretend to want to live in our community? I for one am a proud resident of West Deptford, and I recognize that what makes my town and my home a great place to live is good leadership, community values, and commitment to growth. That's something that the democrats provided for years and will continue to provide with Denice Dicarlo. P.S. Try as you may to disparage the records of our former committee, all you are doing is insulting everyone who ever voted for them.
redneckwillie3 October 28, 2012 at 08:18 PM
are we forgetting that dicarlo lost last election. the same is going to happen this election,then what are you die hard democRATS,going to say when we definetly have control. but the writings on the wall.Donna will resign and dem. machine will select Dicarlo in her spot where she will by republican control be in charge of sewage and waste removal.I don't think you need a CPA license for that position.Gonna be a lot of sad faces when Dicarlo loses
Wayne Klotz October 28, 2012 at 09:13 PM
Occupant; don't you have anything intelligent to write here? I guess you don't because you bring old news instead of new news! I guess everything that is written about Denice is good news and benefits us all, unlike you who don't have anything smart to say!!
canodit October 28, 2012 at 10:08 PM
WD republicans have repeatedly criticized Denice Dicarlo for getting donations from private companies, such as Solvay Solexis and Johnson Matthey to support the Field of Dreams. You're all about private business until it supports a Democrat and then it's suddenly not okay. Additionally, there have also been several individuals and private business persons who have spoken out against the Republicans and supported the democrats. Joe Jarrett of Stat Imaging has made his opinion known in the GCT multiple times and John Bond recently criticized the Republicans in a letter to the GCT for being highly negative and using their new position of power to smear the past rather than to move the township forward. Some of West Deptford's private businesses were looking for a payday (Sunoco, El Paso) while the other businesses of the township that were not in the market for a big fat refund are not happy at how quickly the Republicans were willing to let Sunoco shift more of the tax burden onto them. They expected that their township would fight harder for fairness rather than taking Sunoco's first settlement offer. Republicans are like hallucinogenic fungus, they live in the dark their whole life and feed on manure, and whenever anyone actually consumes their substance they start seeing pretty colors and think it's a revelation when it's actually just a bad trip.
George Dixon October 28, 2012 at 10:38 PM
the democratic party ruined this township.every civil minded person knows that. I was raised in this township and grew up with dave shields and his brother jimmer. when i bought my house in sherwood 33 years ago my taxes were normal for that time period.they didn't to skyrocket until 15 years ago. Taxes up,property value down.gone through several committee and mayoral changes some good some bad. but the past administration was the worse.this town is pathetic to live in anymore. the new administration is trying to bring it back but it will take time. all the bashing on here from both sides just tells me how idiotic your comments are. i'm retired my house is paid I don't owe nobody nothing. and I get a good retirement most likey more than others. it's good to see republican control and the dem regimes that had taken over for all these years slowly being dropped. GOOD LUCK TO THE REPUBLICAN CANDIDATE FOR COMMITTEE,YOU'RE GONNA WIN BY A LANDSLIDE
Madeline Fucci October 28, 2012 at 10:39 PM
I agree with The Truthful Jim Hink. West Deptford was the cash cow for many politicians, their cronies, relatives, children and loyal democrat employees. After they leave the township, they retire at their plush county home complete with benefits and pensions. Talk about double dipping. Unfortunately the poor chumps who have provided this grandiose lifestyle are the abused and unrepresented taxpayers. If you are mad as hell and not taking it anymore, dump DiCarlo.
Wayne Klotz October 28, 2012 at 11:11 PM
Truthfuljimhink, if that is your real name. Somebody hit a nerve about the truth about ray and Sam?! These two have done nothing to help this town but made this a laughing stock of lawsuits! I think I mat know who you are but I hope I am wrong because I supported this person last election! I hope I'm wrong,lL.D.!!!
Wayne Klotz October 28, 2012 at 11:35 PM
Mr.dixon , thank you for declaring Denice the winner! Again thanks!
George Dixon October 28, 2012 at 11:52 PM
NOV 6TH JEFF HANSEN WON BY 3-1 OVER DICARLO. GO BACK TO BEING A SOCCER MOM.
George Dixon October 28, 2012 at 11:53 PM
by the way mr. klotz read the last part I said republican candidate.learn to read
Wayne Klotz October 29, 2012 at 12:17 AM
Oh, I thought you said Hansen was dumped by DICARLO on election day!
Dr. Kenneth Nosewater October 29, 2012 at 12:31 AM
Wayne Klotz... After reviewing all your posts on the Patch, I find that they are nothing but a plethera of rantings from, how can I say it without offending, A gifted person. Yes, Your boring ramblings on this forum that are bought to us courtesy of your puppet masters, the Democratic party in West Deptford, I find are akin to that of a gifted person. You are truly a gifted person Mr. Kotz and I dont mean that in a bad way. Unfortunatly you never have an opinion of your own to convey to the public here? The party faithfull are extreamly lucky to have a person like you on board to do their bidding. Please keep up the good work.
Wayne Klotz October 29, 2012 at 12:55 AM
Frank; I thank you for your kind compliments. my options on patch cannot be boring if people like you respond! I guess the truth hurts!
SANDY October 29, 2012 at 03:26 PM
Dicarlo ordered trash trucks out today with no regards of the safety of the workers. an employee hanging on the back of the truck holding on to the rail in the pouring rain and slippery.Good job denise not THINKING AGAIN as usual did anyone tell you we're having a hurricanE. DUH! unsafe work conditions that's denise's motto for her up coming campaign
redneckwillie3 October 29, 2012 at 04:35 PM
if the power goes out for several days we won't have to read any comments posted by klutzy until after the election when hansen wins.long time in the basement unless your basement gets flooded better move computer to bathroom
Wayne Klotz October 29, 2012 at 05:29 PM
Willie; can't you write anything smart or intelligent? I guess not. Sandy , the mayor has the authority to close the township or is that to hard to understand?!
William Libby October 29, 2012 at 05:42 PM
I see the lies continue. Even I am aware that the Mayor makes the call on that. Not sure if you are aware but the Mayor is in charge of public safety for town!
anonymous October 30, 2012 at 12:33 AM
libby you are more of an idiot than I thought.the mayor yes in charge of public safety which comes under the police department.trash pick up comes under public works in which Dicarlo is in charge she blunder so quit makes excuses for her she ordered trash pick up employees and drivers to report. so before you comment know the facts. I'm pissed because I was one of them.
Dave October 30, 2012 at 12:55 PM
Wayne are you for real. Can't spell, can't form to intelligent words together,write a sentence or craft a thought. I don't know what's worse your rambling scrambling thought process or your rediculious rants that don't hold water. If the dems want you for a mouthpiece they don't have a chance next Tuesday. Keep up the good work.
ThomasJefferson October 30, 2012 at 01:31 PM
All , repeat All, decisions regarding schedule changes are made by day to day operations manager and approved by the Admin. and mayor.
Wayne Klotz October 30, 2012 at 03:05 PM
Dave; what a new name to use again? Anonymous, get real. If you do work for the township you would know that the mayor makes all the calls.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something