.

Letter: Eagle Point Timeline Shows Cianfarini Dishonesty

The letter writer says a months-long look at the Eagle Point settlement shows Denice DiCarlo was on the right track.

To the editor:

I am writing in regard to the September West Deptford Township work session in which Councilman Sam Cianfarini was caught in a lie.

At the April township committee meeting, Councilmen Cianfarini gave a PowerPoint presentation in which he stated that the current settlement was the best we could get without ever mentioning the fire trucks as part of the deal.  At this same meeting Republican candidate Jeff Hansen stated “Why anyone wouldn’t agree with it the deal as presented?” after Councilwomen Donna Szymborski and Denice DiCarlo voted no saying "we can do better."

Τhrough the summer, Councilwomen DiCarlo and Symborski continued to have further discussions with Sunoco. At the July meeting we discovered there was a better deal out there, and with Councilwomen DiCarlo and Symborski’s hard work they saved the township an additional $1 million.

At the Sept. 20 work session, the closed session meeting minutes were unanimously approved. The minutes stated that Councilwomen Denice DiCarlo negotiated two fire trucks as part of the Sunoco tax settlement.

Immediately after approving the minutes, Cianfarini attempted to lie and tell everyone that the fire trucks were no longer on the table. The Gloucester County Times quoted DiCarlo: “The fire trucks were not on the table at that time until I brought them up and you know that is true.  When was the last time you spoke with Sunoco? Because I spoke to them last week and they are still pledged to community development.”

On Sept. 26, the Sunoco Foundation .

Why would Cianfarini lie and try to bring our dedicated firefighters into the political mainstream so he could grab another headline? These facts clearly show that Councilwoman DiCarlo is looking out for the best interests of taxpayers West Deptford and should be elected on Nov. 6.

Joseph Holovachuk
West Deptford

Occupant October 15, 2012 at 11:05 AM
Mr. Holovachuck, everyone knows you are one of the hatchet men for the Democratic party. I seriously doubt that you prepared this editorial on your own. I'm sure you being a loyal Democrat an all you probably already know that Denise DiCarlo is tied to the apron strings of the Democratic party in West Deptford and the Democratic party is Gerry White and his cronies. Why on earth would you or anyone else want to vote for more of the same. I don't know about you Joe, but I don't have bottomless pockets to shell out more and more tax money each year to pay for their corruption. You seem to forget that the majority have voted for a change in the committee at the last election and want a clean slate. Can you understand what that means? It means that you lost, Joe...you still don't get it do you? you lost. All that is needed now is Jeff Hanson on the committee As for Ms. Zymborski, well she's our township's Joe Biden. She opens her mouth once in a while to say something and we put up with that because she's funny. You claim Sam Cianfarini lies? Please show me DiCarlo's CPA license. What, nothing to say? See it works both ways Joe. Our township committee is trying to do the peoples work and at the same time deal with all the unnecessary drama Denise DiCarlo brings to the table each month.. The Sunoco deal is done and put to bed. Everybody is claiming credit...In fact, I just got off the phone with the CEO, we're doing lunch this week.
Wayne Klotz October 15, 2012 at 11:13 AM
Way to go ,joe! Finally the truth comes out about Sam and gang! Want now, occupant!!
Occupant October 15, 2012 at 11:35 AM
Wayne, If you pay your deliquient water bill, I'll vote for Denise. Hows that?
canodit October 15, 2012 at 11:51 AM
The continual argument from your side is because 2 members out of the 5 total members of the committee have changed, that therefore the whole world changed. Allow me to remind you that there are still 3 other members on this committee and those three have joined in disagreement multiple times with these two new members of the committee who were elected last year. And lets not forget that last year more than 50% of the electorate voted for either independent of democrat, and that C&C only won by plurality. No man is a majority, you'd do well to remember that. Why does this matter? Because at the September 20th committee meeting, when asked why Cianfarini's powerpoint back in April contained no mention of these firetrucks, Mayor Chintall himself stated that they were part of concessions offered by Sunoco to get a fourth vote after that presentation was made. By the Mayor's own admission, both the firetrucks and the million dollars in savings were not on the table until the two no-votes by Committee-persons Dicarlo and Symborski. To deny this is to call the Mayor a liar. So it boils down to either Cianfarini is a liar or the Mayor is. I doubt the Mayor would lie to make Denice look good, so it's clear that Cianfarini is the dishonest one here.
Occupant October 15, 2012 at 01:28 PM
Canodit, Please consider this: A township consisting of 6000 registered Democrats, 17,000 Independent, and only 2000 Republicans, C&C managed to win the election from committee members with 20+ years of Democratic rule. Have you ever considered how this happened? Because C&C have laid out the corruption in the township directly at the residents front doorstep for all to see. Now that this is being acted upon there will be always naysayers as yourself who will attempt to belittle Mayor Chintall and Sam Cianfrarini for doing their job. I mean really, who gives a rats behind who gets credit for the Sunoco deal. As long as the taxpayers reap the rewards. God knows we've been paying for it the last 20 years. So if you think that Cianfarini is lying, ask yourself, why would he have to? The facts speak for themselves. Look at all the corruption that C&C has uncovered in just ten months. This is just a continuation of what they promised the voters.
Wayne Klotz October 15, 2012 at 01:44 PM
Occupant; Please stick to the issues! We know you are the puppet of Sam and ray so admit it!
Stephen Chambers October 15, 2012 at 02:23 PM
No Wayne, Occupant is not a puppet of Sam and Ray, it is actually Sam himself trying to come on here and defend his blatant lies and outright dishonesty with more scare tactics. This man is a dishonest fool and I dont see how he can spin his way out of this lie. The residents have had enough of these two trashing our town and smearing our schools all so they can win an election. Enough is enough, and the voters wont fall for their bs again this year.
Wayne Klotz October 15, 2012 at 02:38 PM
Amen to that, Steve. I thought it might be somebody from the republican party who made sense but consider the fact of who it is!!
Few & Proud October 15, 2012 at 03:04 PM
Gentlemen We are mixing truth, or know as facts, with personal opinions and attacks, i.e. political rhetoric. Fact: Mr. Klotz is a county employee. Others who address their concerns may also be political "hacks". So we need facts. I just read some info on the West Deptford GOP website. http://wdgop.org/ Yes, it may be slanted, but there are documents that relate to claims contrary to Mr. Klotz and associates. At least I can decide based on facts not an opinion. Mr. Klotz show your documents that prove your opinion then maybe we can have a healthy discussion, rather than political mumbo jumbo.
Sam Tells Lies October 15, 2012 at 03:24 PM
This timeline clearly shows that Sam lied to the public, I dont need the GOP spin that Sam wrote himself. And by the way, how much money did Cimino contribute to the republican coffers this election season. This is a classic pay-to-play scam being perpetrated on the WD taxpayers.
Wayne Klotz October 15, 2012 at 04:40 PM
Few and proud;I just was on the GOP website and ,like I said before,Sam,I donot know whether to laugh or cry! Maybe I will do both! Oh,I just read the article that Jeff Hanson wrote to the gct and I know somebody wrote this for him,right Sam?!
Sgt. Gary Tomasic October 15, 2012 at 05:20 PM
I don't usually comment on forums because it's all a bunch of bull crap. I served 2 terms in Iraq and got back to the states 2 months ago. I'm visiting my parents in West Deptford,and my father told me to check out this forum. So after reading several items on here I have come to the conclusion Mr. Klotz that you have a lot to say but actually nothing comes out. I'm not a democrat or republican,but I know when I grew up in West Deptford my parents were always complaing about taxes going up,the way the democrats would do dishonest things ect ect. But Mr. Klotz I honestly have to say sometime they send the wrong people over seas,and according to someone that knows you you can care less about the men and women that serve our country. I'm proud that I served my country for you Mr. Klotz but you got to grow up!
Wayne Klotz October 15, 2012 at 05:58 PM
A very nice letter you wrote sgt.tomasic but I do thank you for your service for my freedom and the united states of america but please DONOT EVER QUESTION My LOVE FOR MY COUNTRY AND FELLOW MAN!!! I really ,with that comment, are or is sam's friend! God bless you and please be save over thier
Wayne Klotz October 15, 2012 at 06:02 PM
Correction sgt., I meant to say are you sure you do not know Sam?!
GeneSimmons78 October 15, 2012 at 06:26 PM
Granted there seems to be a lot of things that are out of place. I contribute this to complete control of the Twp committee. Before Shields it was the Marz people. So why would I vote for Hansen to give the Reps complete control when this was the reason the Dems went sour. To give Cianfarini and Chintall complete control without any checks and balances seems to be the same thing we did when we let the Dems have complete control. Aren't there any good independents out there.
Stephen Chambers October 15, 2012 at 07:19 PM
Sam's power point presentation on Sunoco was equivalent to Colin Powell's presentation to the United Nations on WMD's. Both were complete fabrications designed to scare the taxpayers. Cianfarini and Chintall should star in the sequel of Dumb and Dumber 2, two buffoons that need to be kept in check.
Duchess October 15, 2012 at 07:39 PM
Aren't you supposed to be working Mr Klotz not writing on this forum!! You really need to to pay off your water bill.
Wayne Klotz October 15, 2012 at 07:47 PM
Ducess, what,anew name used by the so called republicans?! Oh by the way Sam, my shift ended at 3 pm! Nice name . What next, cookie monster?
Duchess October 15, 2012 at 11:17 PM
Your shift ended at three??? You've been on the forum all day!!!
Wayne Klotz October 16, 2012 at 11:53 AM
Duchess, at it again but a different name!! Today I am off but when I wrote the articles I was on my own time. maybe you should concentrate on the twsp.instead of me or do you have nothing to complain about, Sam!!!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something